Skip to content
Curtin University
Humanities

Department of Internet Studies

Welcome to the Department of Internet Studies. This was the first dedicated Internet Studies department in the world and is now also the longest running!

When you choose to study Internet Communications at Curtin, you will learn not just how to navigate, lead and create within a rapidly changing technological landscape, you will also acquire the skills and critical knowledge necessary to thrive in an increasingly digital, often mobile and globally networked world of communication, media and information.

As the Internet continues to affect all aspects of life from the political and social to the cultural and economic, there will be even more demand for new ways of thinking, designing, curating and critical reflection.  At our department, we go beyond the merely technical to ensure that our graduates will go on to lead ongoing Internet developments rather than simply follow them. This is at the heart of what we research, teach and practice. Come and be a part of it.


Contact Us

Internet Studies Staff

Associate Professor Michele Willson

Head of Department
Telephone: +618 9266 3594
Email: M.Willson@curtin.edu.au

Dr Katie Ellis

Senior Research Fellow
Email: Katie.Ellis@curtin.edu.au

Dr Mike Kent

Telephone: +618 9266 2220
Email: M.Kent@curtin.edu.au

Dr Tama Leaver

Telephone: +618 9266 1258
Email: T.Leaver@curtin.edu.au

Dr Susan Leong

Early Career Research Fellow
Email: Susan.Leong@curtin.edu.au

Dr Clare Lloyd

Telephone: +61 8 9266 3247
Email: Clare.A.Lloyd@curtin.edu.au

Dr Leanne McRae

Email: Leanne.Mcrae@curtin.edu.au

Dr Helen Merrick

Email: H.Merrick@curtin.edu.au

Dr Eleanor Sandry

Telephone: +618 9266 7436
Email: E.Sandry@curtin.edu.au

Dr Elaine Tay

Telephone: +618 9266 7387
Email: E.Tay@curtin.edu.au

Dr Sky Croeser

Sessional Staff
Email: S.Croeser@curtin.edu.au