Geoff Warn

Geoff Warn was appointed as WA Government Architect in November 2013. In this role he provides independent strategic advice to the government to improve the design quality of public buildings and spaces.

He is a respected practitioner and Director of Donaldson + Warn, a multi-awarded design studio with a reputation for design expertise with experience in architecture, urban design and master planning. Geoff has amassed over 30 years’ experience across many aspects of architectural practice while specialising in educational architecture and multi-residential projects.

Geoff has a long-standing commitment to architectural education. He has taught at both of Perth’s Schools of Architecture and has lectured in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Newcastle, Berkeley, San Francisco, Kuala Lumpur and Berlin. He was an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Western Australia and Adjunct Professor to the School of Fine Arts at Curtin University. Geoff attended the Domus Academy Winter School Masterclass, has a Master of Architecture from RMIT, and from 2005 to 2010 Geoff held the position of Professor of Architecture at Curtin University.

Geoff has been actively involved on a range of government and institutional advisory review boards and awards panels, including the Perth Waterfront Design Review Panel, LandCorp’s Design Review Panels, Northbridge Link Design Review Panel and the 2008 RAIA National Awards Panel.

As part of his role as Government Architect, Geoff is a member of the Central Perth Planning Committee and has provided advice on many significant projects. He was on the evaluation and selection panel for the new Perth Stadium and the new Museum. Geoff continues to provide detailed advice on these projects and others such as the Swan River pedestrian bridge, commercial towers at Elizabeth Quay, the redevelopment of Scarborough Beach, and is heading a strategic framework for the redevelopment of the Perth Cultural Centre. Geoff and his team continue to play a pivotal role in Design WA, a major component of Planning Reform and he is Chair of the State Design Review Panel.